Saily
20 GB · 30 days
$24.99$1.25/GB
See this planEvery traveler uses data differently. For students & working holiday, we compared 5 providers on a typical trip of 30 days with at least 20 GB. The cheapest plan that fits costs $24.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
20 GB · 30 days
$24.99$1.25/GB
See this planUnlimited · 30 days
$66.00
See this plan20 GB · 30 days
$24.99$1.25/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 30 days and 20 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 20 GB | 30 days | $24.99 | $1.25/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.7 | View plan |
| Airalo | 20 GB | 30 days | $25.00 | $1.25/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.5 | View plan |
| Yesim | 20 GB | 30 days | $29.76 | $1.49/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 8.5 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 30 days | $73.90 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.0 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 20 GB | Pay as you go | $245.11 | $12.26/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 2.8 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 20 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 20 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 20 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 30 days
Plan for this page: 20 GB · Pay as you go
A semester, an exchange or a working holiday means weeks or months in Japan, so the useful comparison is on plans of at least 30 days with a generous volume.
A travel eSIM covers the first weeks, while you settle in, open a bank account and get your residence card. For a long stay, compare it later with a Japanese carrier plan, which may become cheaper once you can sign up locally.
Top-up options matter on long stays: being able to add data to the same eSIM avoids reinstalling a new one every month.
The ranking below explains the weights used for this profile, and the estimator lets you test your own usage.
Keep the QR code or the activation details somewhere you can open offline, in case you need to reinstall the eSIM during the trip.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
It is the easiest way to be online from day one. For the first month, Saily ranks first at $24.99; for a stay of several months, compare with local carrier plans once you have your residence card.
With this site’s assumptions, a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day, a medium user 0.8 GB and a heavy user 2 GB. The estimator on this page lets you change these assumptions.
For 30 days with at least 20 GB, the cheapest published plan is Saily at $24.99, checked on September 24, 2026.
It depends on the provider. The comparison table shows whether hotspot use is published as allowed, and some unlimited plans cap how much data you can share per day.
Install it at home on Wi-Fi a day or two before you fly, then switch it on for mobile data when you land. With most providers the validity only starts once the eSIM connects to a Japanese network.
Many unlimited plans apply a fair-use rule and slow the speed after a daily threshold. Read the plan conditions on the provider’s page; Yesim currently has the cheapest unlimited option here at $66.00.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.