ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Japan for Solo Travelers (2026)

The best eSIM for solo travelers is not simply the cheapest one. We ranked the published Japan plans with a score tuned for this profile: Airalo comes first at $17.50.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 14 days and 7 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Airalo10 GB15 days$17.50$1.75/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.8View plan
Saily10 GB30 days$17.99$1.80/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.6View plan
Yesim10 GB30 days$19.20$1.92/GBKDDIYesYes8.8View plan
HolaflyUnlimited15 days$50.50—KDDI/SoftBankYesYes5.8View plan
Drimsim7 GBPay as you go$93.21$13.32/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.1View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 10 GB · 15 days

    9.8/10
    Price
    $17.50
    Price/GB
    $1.75/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  2. 2

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days

    9.6/10
    Price
    $17.99
    Price/GB
    $1.80/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  3. 3

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days

    8.8/10
    Price
    $19.20
    Price/GB
    $1.92/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 15 days

    5.8/10
    Price
    $50.50
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Pricier than the page average
    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 7 GB · Pay as you go

    3.1/10
    Price
    $93.21
    Price/GB
    $13.32/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Travelling solo, your phone is your map, translator, ticket office and safety net. You usually need a reliable plan more than a big one, and the score here puts most of the weight on price.

A fixed plan covers most solo trips of two weeks. If you post a lot on social media or make video calls every evening, look at the unlimited column instead of buying a second plan halfway.

Saving the provider’s support contact and your eSIM QR code offline is a good habit when there is nobody to share a connection with.

The ranking below explains the weights used for this profile, and the estimator lets you test your own usage.

Once the eSIM is active, turn off data roaming on your home SIM so your usual carrier does not bill background data.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated data—Plan that covers it

—

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

What eSIM should I get for a solo trip to Japan?

For a two-week solo trip with at least 7 GB, Airalo ranks first at $17.50, and the cheapest plan that fits is Airalo at $17.50.

How much data do solo travelers need in Japan?

With this site’s assumptions, a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day, a medium user 0.8 GB and a heavy user 2 GB. The estimator on this page lets you change these assumptions.

What is the cheapest option for this profile?

For 14 days with at least 7 GB, the cheapest published plan is Airalo at $17.50, checked on September 24, 2026.

Can I share the eSIM data with another device?

Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.

When should I install the eSIM?

Install it at home on Wi-Fi a day or two before you fly, then switch it on for mobile data when you land. With most providers the validity only starts once the eSIM connects to a Japanese network.

Will my phone work with a Japan eSIM?

It must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Most recent iPhones, Google Pixels and Samsung Galaxy models support eSIM; check your phone’s settings or the provider’s compatibility list before paying.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (60%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (5%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.