Saily
3 GB · 30 days
$7.99$2.66/GB
See this planFor 5 days in Japan you rarely need a big data plan, but you do need one that lasts. We compared 5 providers on price, network and hotspot: Saily leads at $7.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
3 GB · 30 days
$7.99$2.66/GB
See this planUnlimited · 5 days
$17.00
See this plan3 GB · 30 days
$7.99$2.66/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 5 days and 3 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 3 GB | 30 days | $7.99 | $2.66/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.8 | View plan |
| Airalo | 3 GB | 7 days | $8.00 | $2.67/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.2 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 8.1 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 5 days | $20.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.7 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 3 GB | Pay as you go | $46.47 | $15.49/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.4 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 3 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 3 GB · 7 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 5 days
Plan for this page: 3 GB · Pay as you go
Over 5 days you will lean on your phone every day: Google Maps between stations, restaurant searches, ticket QR codes and photos sent home. With the assumption used on this site that adds up to about 3 GB, which is why every plan shown here carries at least that.
If you post videos or share your connection with a partner’s phone or a laptop, move up a size or look at the unlimited column. Airalo currently has the cheapest unlimited plan that lasts the whole trip, at $17.00.
Plan lengths are fixed by each provider, so the recommended plan can be longer than your stay. Compare the price, not the number of days: a 30-day plan that costs less than a 7-day one is still the better deal.
Every price on this page is the one published for Japan on the date shown at the top, in US dollars as the provider displays it; the final amount is the one shown at the provider’s checkout.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
With this site’s assumptions a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB. For 5 days the plans shown here carry at least 3 GB; use the estimator to adjust.
Among the plans that last at least 5 days and cover at least 3 GB, the cheapest is Saily at $7.99. Prices were checked on September 24, 2026.
On today’s published prices Saily ranks first for 5 days, at $7.99. The score weighs price, Japanese network, hotspot and options; the formula is explained under the ranking.
It is worth it if you stream, share a hotspot or work online every day. On this page the cheapest unlimited option is Airalo at $17.00; for maps and messaging a fixed plan usually costs less.
Install it at home on Wi-Fi a day or two before you fly, then switch it on for mobile data when you land. With most providers the validity only starts once the eSIM connects to a Japanese network.
A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.