Saily
10 GB · 30 days
$17.99$1.80/GB
See this plan10 GB is a clear target, but providers package it differently: different validities, networks and hotspot rules. Here is what 5 providers publish for at least 10 GB, led by Saily at $17.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
10 GB · 30 days
$17.99$1.80/GB
See this planUnlimited · 7 days
$26.50
See this plan10 GB · 7 days
$17.00$1.70/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 1 day and 10 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 10 GB | 30 days | $17.99 | $1.80/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 10 GB | 7 days | $17.00 | $1.70/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 10 GB | 30 days | $19.20 | $1.92/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 8.8 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 7 days | $27.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 7.8 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 10 GB | Pay as you go | $128.26 | $12.83/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.2 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 7 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 7 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · Pay as you go
10 GB is a good fit for one to two weeks of everyday use, including photos and some video calls. With this site’s assumptions a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB, so divide 10 by your daily use to see how long it lasts.
The plan shown for each provider is the cheapest one with at least that volume. It may carry a little more data than you asked for, or last longer than your trip: the price is what we compare.
When no fixed plan of that size is published, an unlimited plan lasting at least a week can be the cheapest way to get the volume, which is why unlimited plans also appear in the table.
Check the price per GB column: the biggest plans are often the cheapest per gigabyte, but only worth it if you actually use the data.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
With this site’s assumptions, a light user uses about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB. Divide 10 by your daily use, or try the estimator on this page.
The cheapest published plan with at least 10 GB is Airalo at $17.00. Prices were checked on September 24, 2026.
It is enough for one to two weeks of everyday use, including photos and some video calls. Heavy users who stream or share a hotspot should compare with the unlimited plans.
Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.
Install it at home on Wi-Fi a day or two before you fly, then switch it on for mobile data when you land. With most providers the validity only starts once the eSIM connects to a Japanese network.
A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.