ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best 3 GB eSIM for Japan (2026)

Looking for 3 GB of data in Japan? We compared every published plan with at least 3 GB, plus unlimited plans lasting a week. Airalo is the cheapest at $7.50, and Saily gets the best overall score.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 1 day and 3 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Saily3 GB30 days$7.99$2.66/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.4View plan
Airalo3 GB3 days$7.50$2.50/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.3View plan
Yesim5 GB30 days$10.56$2.11/GBKDDIYesYes7.9View plan
HolaflyUnlimited7 days$27.50KDDI/SoftBankYesYes6.1View plan
Drimsim3 GBPay as you go$46.47$15.49/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.3View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 3 GB · 30 days

    9.4/10
    Price
    $7.99
    Price/GB
    $2.66/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 3 GB · 3 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $7.50
    Price/GB
    $2.50/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  3. 3

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    7.9/10
    Price
    $10.56
    Price/GB
    $2.11/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 7 days

    6.1/10
    Price
    $27.50
    Price/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Pricier than the page average
    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 3 GB · Pay as you go

    3.3/10
    Price
    $46.47
    Price/GB
    $15.49/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

3 GB is a good fit for a short trip or a light user who mostly relies on hotel Wi-Fi. With this site’s assumptions a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB, so divide 3 by your daily use to see how long it lasts.

The plan shown for each provider is the cheapest one with at least that volume. It may carry a little more data than you asked for, or last longer than your trip: the price is what we compare.

When no fixed plan of that size is published, an unlimited plan lasting at least a week can be the cheapest way to get the volume, which is why unlimited plans also appear in the table.

Before paying, check that your phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible, and whether the plan allows hotspot sharing if you need it.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated dataPlan that covers it

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

How long does 3 GB last in Japan?

With this site’s assumptions, a light user uses about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB. Divide 3 by your daily use, or try the estimator on this page.

What is the cheapest 3 GB eSIM for Japan?

The cheapest published plan with at least 3 GB is Airalo at $7.50. Prices were checked on September 24, 2026.

Is 3 GB enough for Japan?

It is enough for a short trip or a light user who mostly relies on hotel Wi-Fi. Heavy users who stream or share a hotspot should compare with the unlimited plans.

Does a Japan eSIM allow tethering?

It depends on the provider. The comparison table shows whether hotspot use is published as allowed, and some unlimited plans cap how much data you can share per day.

How do I activate the eSIM when I arrive?

Select the eSIM as your mobile data line, turn on data roaming for it, and wait for a Japanese network name to appear. If nothing happens, restart the phone and check the APN settings shown by the provider.

Is a pocket Wi-Fi better than an eSIM?

A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (50%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (15%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.