ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Japan for 7 Days (2026)

For 7 days in Japan you rarely need a big data plan, but you do need one that lasts. We compared 5 providers on price, network and hotspot: Airalo leads at $10.00.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 7 days and 4 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Airalo5 GB7 days$10.00$2.00/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.3View plan
Saily5 GB30 days$10.99$2.20/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.3View plan
Yesim5 GB30 days$10.56$2.11/GBKDDIYesYes9.1View plan
HolaflyUnlimited7 days$27.50—KDDI/SoftBankYesYes6.6View plan
Drimsim5 GBPay as you go$69.84$13.97/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.2View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 7 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.00
    Price/GB
    $2.00/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  2. 2

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.99
    Price/GB
    $2.20/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  3. 3

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.1/10
    Price
    $10.56
    Price/GB
    $2.11/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 7 days

    6.6/10
    Price
    $27.50
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go

    3.2/10
    Price
    $69.84
    Price/GB
    $13.97/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Over 7 days you will lean on your phone every day: Google Maps between stations, restaurant searches, ticket QR codes and photos sent home. With the assumption used on this site that adds up to about 4 GB, which is why every plan shown here carries at least that.

If you post videos or share your connection with a partner’s phone or a laptop, move up a size or look at the unlimited column. Airalo currently has the cheapest unlimited plan that lasts the whole trip, at $26.50.

Plan lengths are fixed by each provider, so the recommended plan can be longer than your stay. Compare the price, not the number of days: a 30-day plan that costs less than a 7-day one is still the better deal.

Every price on this page is the one published for Japan on the date shown at the top, in US dollars as the provider displays it; the final amount is the one shown at the provider’s checkout.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated data—Plan that covers it

—

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

How much data do I need for 7 days in Japan?

With this site’s assumptions a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB. For 7 days the plans shown here carry at least 4 GB; use the estimator to adjust.

What is the cheapest eSIM for 7 days in Japan?

Among the plans that last at least 7 days and cover at least 4 GB, the cheapest is Airalo at $10.00. Prices were checked on September 24, 2026.

Which eSIM is best for a 7 days trip?

On today’s published prices Airalo ranks first for 7 days, at $10.00. The score weighs price, Japanese network, hotspot and options; the formula is explained under the ranking.

Are unlimited plans really unlimited?

Many unlimited plans apply a fair-use rule and slow the speed after a daily threshold. Read the plan conditions on the provider’s page; Airalo currently has the cheapest unlimited option here at $26.50.

Do I need Wi-Fi to activate a Japan eSIM?

You need an internet connection to download the eSIM profile, so do it on Wi-Fi before the trip. Once installed, the eSIM connects to a Japanese network by itself when you turn on data roaming for that line.

Does a Japan eSIM allow tethering?

It depends on the provider. The comparison table shows whether hotspot use is published as allowed, and some unlimited plans cap how much data you can share per day.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (50%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (15%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.