Saily
10 GB · 30 days
$17.99$1.80/GB
See this planChoosing an eSIM for 14 days is mostly about validity and volume. With at least 7 GB over 14 days, the cheapest option we found is Airalo at $17.50, and Saily scores best overall.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
10 GB · 30 days
$17.99$1.80/GB
See this planUnlimited · 14 days
$41.47
See this plan10 GB · 15 days
$17.50$1.75/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 14 days and 7 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 10 GB | 30 days | $17.99 | $1.80/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.6 | View plan |
| Airalo | 10 GB | 15 days | $17.50 | $1.75/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 10 GB | 30 days | $19.20 | $1.92/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 8.9 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 15 days | $50.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.5 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 7 GB | Pay as you go | $93.21 | $13.32/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.4 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 15 days
Plan for this page: 7 GB · Pay as you go
A 14 days trip is long enough for data use to drift upwards: more photos, video calls home, maybe some remote work. With the assumption used on this site the minimum is about 7 GB, but heavy users should check the estimator below before buying.
On longer stays unlimited plans become more attractive, because the price per day falls with the length. Yesim currently offers the cheapest unlimited plan lasting the whole trip, at $41.47. Check whether a daily fair-use limit applies.
Some providers let you top up the same eSIM instead of buying a new one, which is handy if you run out before the end. The provider reviews linked below say which ones publish a top-up option.
Every price on this page is the one published for Japan on the date shown at the top, in US dollars as the provider displays it; the final amount is the one shown at the provider’s checkout.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
With this site’s assumptions a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB. For 14 days the plans shown here carry at least 7 GB; use the estimator to adjust.
Among the plans that last at least 14 days and cover at least 7 GB, the cheapest is Airalo at $17.50. Prices were checked on September 24, 2026.
On today’s published prices Saily ranks first for 14 days, at $17.99. The score weighs price, Japanese network, hotspot and options; the formula is explained under the ranking.
Many unlimited plans apply a fair-use rule and slow the speed after a daily threshold. Read the plan conditions on the provider’s page; Yesim currently has the cheapest unlimited option here at $41.47.
Select the eSIM as your mobile data line, turn on data roaming for it, and wait for a Japanese network name to appear. If nothing happens, restart the phone and check the APN settings shown by the provider.
Yes. Most phones run two lines at once: keep your usual SIM for calls and texts and use the Japan eSIM for data. Turn off data roaming on your home line to avoid charges.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.