Saily
3 GB · 30 days
$7.99$2.66/GB
See this planHeading to Japan for 3 days? We kept only the eSIM plans that last at least 3 days and carry at least 2 GB, then ranked them. Saily comes out on top at $7.99, and the cheapest plan that fits costs $7.50.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
3 GB · 30 days
$7.99$2.66/GB
See this planUnlimited · 3 days
$11.50
See this plan3 GB · 3 days
$7.50$2.50/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 3 days and 2 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 3 GB | 30 days | $7.99 | $2.66/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.4 | View plan |
| Airalo | 3 GB | 3 days | $7.50 | $2.50/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 7.9 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 3 days | $11.90 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 7.9 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 2 GB | Pay as you go | $34.78 | $17.39/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.6 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 3 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 3 GB · 3 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 3 days
Plan for this page: 2 GB · Pay as you go
On a short stay of 3 days, most travelers use their phone for maps, train times, translation and messaging. With the assumption used on this site that is around 2 GB in total, so a small plan is enough and an unlimited plan rarely pays off.
Providers sell plans in fixed lengths, so the plan picked for each provider may last longer than your trip. That is not a problem: you simply stop using it when you leave. What matters is the price for the volume you need.
If your 3 days are a stopover or a layover in Tokyo or Osaka, install the eSIM before the flight so you are online as soon as you clear immigration. Short trips leave no time to hunt for Wi-Fi.
Every price on this page is the one published for Japan on the date shown at the top, in US dollars as the provider displays it; the final amount is the one shown at the provider’s checkout.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
With this site’s assumptions a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB. For 3 days the plans shown here carry at least 2 GB; use the estimator to adjust.
Among the plans that last at least 3 days and cover at least 2 GB, the cheapest is Airalo at $7.50. Prices were checked on September 24, 2026.
On today’s published prices Saily ranks first for 3 days, at $7.99. The score weighs price, Japanese network, hotspot and options; the formula is explained under the ranking.
It is worth it if you stream, share a hotspot or work online every day. On this page the cheapest unlimited option is Airalo at $11.50; for maps and messaging a fixed plan usually costs less.
You need an internet connection to download the eSIM profile, so do it on Wi-Fi before the trip. Once installed, the eSIM connects to a Japanese network by itself when you turn on data roaming for that line.
For one or two people with compatible phones, an eSIM is lighter and usually cheaper. A pocket Wi-Fi can suit a large group sharing one connection; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares both.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.