ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best 20 GB eSIM for Japan (2026)

If you already know you need about 20 GB, the question is who sells it for less and on which network. The lowest published price today is $24.00 with Airalo.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 1 day and 20 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Saily20 GB30 days$24.99$1.25/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.6View plan
Airalo20 GB15 days$24.00$1.20/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.3View plan
HolaflyUnlimited7 days$27.50—KDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.1View plan
YesimUnlimited7 days$29.40—KDDIYesYes8.4View plan
Drimsim20 GBPay as you go$245.11$12.26/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.0View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 20 GB · 30 days

    9.6/10
    Price
    $24.99
    Price/GB
    $1.25/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 20 GB · 15 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $24.00
    Price/GB
    $1.20/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  3. 3

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 7 days

    9.1/10
    Price
    $27.50
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 7 days

    8.4/10
    Price
    $29.40
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 20 GB · Pay as you go

    3.0/10
    Price
    $245.11
    Price/GB
    $12.26/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

20 GB is a good fit for a long trip, a heavy user or two people sharing one connection. With this site’s assumptions a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB, so divide 20 by your daily use to see how long it lasts.

The plan shown for each provider is the cheapest one with at least that volume. It may carry a little more data than you asked for, or last longer than your trip: the price is what we compare.

When no fixed plan of that size is published, an unlimited plan lasting at least a week can be the cheapest way to get the volume, which is why unlimited plans also appear in the table.

Before paying, check that your phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible, and whether the plan allows hotspot sharing if you need it.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated data—Plan that covers it

—

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

How long does 20 GB last in Japan?

With this site’s assumptions, a light user uses about 0.3 GB a day and a medium user about 0.8 GB. Divide 20 by your daily use, or try the estimator on this page.

What is the cheapest 20 GB eSIM for Japan?

The cheapest published plan with at least 20 GB is Airalo at $24.00. Prices were checked on September 24, 2026.

Is 20 GB enough for Japan?

It is enough for a long trip, a heavy user or two people sharing one connection. Heavy users who stream or share a hotspot should compare with the unlimited plans.

Can I share the eSIM data with another device?

Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.

When should I install the eSIM?

Install it at home on Wi-Fi a day or two before you fly, then switch it on for mobile data when you land. With most providers the validity only starts once the eSIM connects to a Japanese network.

Is a pocket Wi-Fi better than an eSIM?

A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (50%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (15%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.