ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Japan for Digital Nomads (2026)

The best eSIM for digital nomads is not simply the cheapest one. We ranked the published Japan plans with a score tuned for this profile: Saily comes first at $71.99.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 30 days and 50 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
SailyUnlimited30 days$71.99—KDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.3View plan
YesimUnlimited30 days$66.00—KDDIYesYes9.2View plan
HolaflyUnlimited30 days$73.90—KDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.2View plan
AiraloUnlimited30 days$69.00—SoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated8.8View plan
Drimsim50 GBPay as you go$595.65$11.91/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.6View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 30 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $71.99
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 30 days

    9.2/10
    Price
    $66.00
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  3. 3

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 30 days

    9.2/10
    Price
    $73.90
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 30 days

    8.8/10
    Price
    $69.00
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Two or more Japanese networks published
    • Top-up without a new eSIM

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 50 GB · Pay as you go

    3.6/10
    Price
    $595.65
    Price/GB
    $11.91/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Working remotely from Japan means video calls, uploads and a laptop on hotspot every day. Unlimited plans or very large ones are the realistic choice, and hotspot rules matter as much as the price.

Check the fair-use policy of unlimited plans: some slow down after a daily threshold, which is fine for email but not for a video call. Coworking spaces and cafés with Wi-Fi remain a good complement.

The comparison uses a 30-day stay with at least 50 GB. For longer stays, look at the provider reviews for top-up options and longer plans.

The ranking below explains the weights used for this profile, and the estimator lets you test your own usage.

Before paying, check that your phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible: the option usually sits under Mobile data or Cellular in the phone’s settings.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated data—Plan that covers it

—

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Which eSIM is best for remote work in Japan?

For a month with heavy use, Saily ranks first at $71.99. Prefer a plan that allows hotspot sharing and read its fair-use rules before relying on it for video calls.

How much data do digital nomads need in Japan?

With this site’s assumptions, a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day, a medium user 0.8 GB and a heavy user 2 GB. The estimator on this page lets you change these assumptions.

What is the cheapest option for this profile?

For 30 days with at least 50 GB, the cheapest published plan is Yesim at $66.00, checked on September 24, 2026.

Does a Japan eSIM allow tethering?

It depends on the provider. The comparison table shows whether hotspot use is published as allowed, and some unlimited plans cap how much data you can share per day.

Do I need Wi-Fi to activate a Japan eSIM?

You need an internet connection to download the eSIM profile, so do it on Wi-Fi before the trip. Once installed, the eSIM connects to a Japanese network by itself when you turn on data roaming for that line.

Can I keep my own number while using the eSIM?

Yes. Most phones run two lines at once: keep your usual SIM for calls and texts and use the Japan eSIM for data. Turn off data roaming on your home line to avoid charges.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (35%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (20%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (25%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.