Saily
10 GB · 30 days
$17.99$1.80/GB
See this planThe best eSIM for jr pass road trips is not simply the cheapest one. We ranked the published Japan plans with a score tuned for this profile: Saily comes first at $17.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
10 GB · 30 days
$17.99$1.80/GB
See this planUnlimited · 14 days
$41.47
See this plan10 GB · 15 days
$17.50$1.75/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 14 days and 10 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 10 GB | 30 days | $17.99 | $1.80/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.6 | View plan |
| Airalo | 10 GB | 15 days | $17.50 | $1.75/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.5 | View plan |
| Yesim | 10 GB | 30 days | $19.20 | $1.92/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 8.8 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 15 days | $50.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.8 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 10 GB | Pay as you go | $128.26 | $12.83/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.4 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 15 days
Plan for this page: 10 GB · Pay as you go
A JR Pass itinerary crosses the country: Shinkansen, local lines, small towns and mountain valleys. The network behind the eSIM matters more here than in Tokyo, which is why it weighs more in this profile.
Expect short drops in long tunnels and remote valleys whatever the provider. Download offline maps for the regions you cross, and keep train timetables saved in your ticket app.
The comparison uses a two-week trip with at least 10 GB, the most common JR Pass length. Check the region pages linked below for the areas where coverage matters most.
The ranking below explains the weights used for this profile, and the estimator lets you test your own usage.
Before paying, check that your phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible: the option usually sits under Mobile data or Cellular in the phone’s settings.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
Travel eSIMs use Japanese networks that cover the main Shinkansen lines, but connections can drop briefly in tunnels. Many trains also offer free Wi-Fi as a backup.
With this site’s assumptions, a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day, a medium user 0.8 GB and a heavy user 2 GB. The estimator on this page lets you change these assumptions.
For 14 days with at least 10 GB, the cheapest published plan is Airalo at $17.50, checked on September 24, 2026.
Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.
Yes, and it is the easiest option: scan the QR code or use the provider’s app on Wi-Fi before departure. Most plans only start counting days when the eSIM first connects in Japan.
Most travel eSIMs sold for Japan are data only. You can still call through apps such as WhatsApp or FaceTime, and keep your home SIM active for texts.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.