ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Japan for Families (2026)

We adapted the ranking to families: same published prices, different priorities. For 14 days in Japan, Saily scores best at $24.99 and Airalo is the cheapest.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 14 days and 15 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Saily20 GB30 days$24.99$1.25/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.6View plan
Yesim20 GB30 days$29.76$1.49/GBKDDIYesYes8.7View plan
Airalo20 GB15 days$24.00$1.20/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated8.5View plan
HolaflyUnlimited15 days$50.50—KDDI/SoftBankYesYes7.7View plan
Drimsim15 GBPay as you go$186.68$12.45/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.5View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 20 GB · 30 days

    9.6/10
    Price
    $24.99
    Price/GB
    $1.25/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 20 GB · 30 days

    8.7/10
    Price
    $29.76
    Price/GB
    $1.49/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  3. 3

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 20 GB · 15 days

    8.5/10
    Price
    $24.00
    Price/GB
    $1.20/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 15 days

    7.7/10
    Price
    $50.50
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 15 GB · Pay as you go

    3.5/10
    Price
    $186.68
    Price/GB
    $12.45/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Travelling with children changes the data question: several phones, a tablet for the train, maybe a laptop. One larger plan with hotspot sharing is often simpler than an eSIM per person, which is why the score gives hotspot more weight here.

Keep in mind that the hotspot drains the host phone’s battery; a small power bank in the day bag solves it. And if the children’s devices only need offline content, download films and maps before you leave.

The comparison uses a two-week trip with at least 15 GB, a common family format. Adjust with the estimator if your children stream a lot.

The ranking below explains the weights used for this profile, and the estimator lets you test your own usage.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated data—Plan that covers it

—

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Can the whole family share one eSIM?

Yes, if the plan allows hotspot sharing: one phone shares its connection with the others. Check the hotspot column, because some providers do not mention it and some limit it per day.

How much data do families need in Japan?

With this site’s assumptions, a light user needs about 0.3 GB a day, a medium user 0.8 GB and a heavy user 2 GB. The estimator on this page lets you change these assumptions.

What is the cheapest option for this profile?

For 14 days with at least 15 GB, the cheapest published plan is Airalo at $24.00, checked on September 24, 2026.

Can I share the eSIM data with another device?

Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.

Can I set up the eSIM before leaving home?

Yes, and it is the easiest option: scan the QR code or use the provider’s app on Wi-Fi before departure. Most plans only start counting days when the eSIM first connects in Japan.

Will my phone work with a Japan eSIM?

It must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Most recent iPhones, Google Pixels and Samsung Galaxy models support eSIM; check your phone’s settings or the provider’s compatibility list before paying.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (40%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (15%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (30%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.