Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planPlanning a route through Okinawa? These eSIM plans cover a typical trip of 10 days, ranked on price, network, hotspot and options.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Most international visitors reach Okinawa through Naha (OKA). Stops covered on this site include Naha, Okinawa, each with its own page below.
Being an island destination, it is worth checking the network used by your provider before you go, and keeping offline maps for ferry and bus connections.
A Japan eSIM is nationwide: you do not need a different plan when you cross into another region. Size it on your whole itinerary and your daily use.
Download offline maps of the region before leaving, and keep your accommodation addresses saved offline in case you land in a spot with weak signal.
Keep the QR code or the activation details somewhere you can open offline, in case you need to reinstall the eSIM during the trip.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works across Okinawa and the rest of Japan.
Cities and main transport corridors are well covered by Japanese networks. Being an island destination, it is worth checking the network used by your provider before you go, and keeping offline maps for ferry and bus connections.
Providers that publish more than one Japanese partner network give you a fallback if one is weak. The networks column in the table shows what each provider publishes.
You need an internet connection to download the eSIM profile, so do it on Wi-Fi before the trip. Once installed, the eSIM connects to a Japanese network by itself when you turn on data roaming for that line.
A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.
Many unlimited plans apply a fair-use rule and slow the speed after a daily threshold. Read the plan conditions on the provider’s page; Airalo currently has the cheapest unlimited option here at $34.50.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.