Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planVisiting Naha, Okinawa? You will want data from the moment you arrive, for transfers, maps and restaurant searches. We compared the Japan eSIM plans that suit a typical trip: Saily ranks first at $10.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Most visitors reach Naha, Okinawa through Naha (OKA). From there the usual links are Yui Rail. Install your eSIM before the flight so you can check connections as soon as you land.
Being an island destination, it is worth checking the network used by your provider before you go, and keeping offline maps for ferry and bus connections.
Because a Japan eSIM is nationwide, the plan you choose for Naha, Okinawa also covers the rest of Okinawa and beyond. The comparison uses a typical trip of 10 days.
If you are travelling with several devices, look at the hotspot column before choosing: sharing one plan can be cheaper than buying two.
Before paying, check that your phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible: the option usually sits under Mobile data or Cellular in the phone’s settings.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For a typical trip of 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works everywhere in Japan, not just in Naha, Okinawa.
The main arrival airports for Naha, Okinawa are Naha (OKA). The usual onward links are Yui Rail.
No. Travel eSIMs for Japan are nationwide, so one plan covers every city and region on your route.
You need an internet connection to download the eSIM profile, so do it on Wi-Fi before the trip. Once installed, the eSIM connects to a Japanese network by itself when you turn on data roaming for that line.
For one or two people with compatible phones, an eSIM is lighter and usually cheaper. A pocket Wi-Fi can suit a large group sharing one connection; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares both.
Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.