Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planArriving in Japan through Naha (OKA)? Here is how to be connected from the gate, and which eSIM plans are worth it. Saily leads our ranking.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Naha (OKA) mainly serves Naha. The usual links to the city are Yui Rail, and you will want data to check departures and platforms as soon as you clear customs.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi, but keep it switched off for data until you land. Once the plane is on the ground, select the eSIM for mobile data, turn on data roaming for that line and wait for a Japanese network to appear.
If you prefer an alternative on arrival, major Japanese airports have rental counters for pocket Wi-Fi and SIM cards. They require queuing on arrival and, for pocket Wi-Fi, returning the device; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares the options.
Airport Wi-Fi is free but shared, so avoid logging into banking or work accounts on it before your eSIM is active.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
An eSIM is bought online, so you can purchase and install it before your flight. At the airport itself, rental counters offer pocket Wi-Fi and physical SIM cards instead.
Install the eSIM at home, then on landing select it for mobile data and turn on data roaming for that line. The phone should show a Japanese network within a minute or two.
The usual links are Yui Rail. Having mobile data lets you check live departures and platforms while you walk to the station.
For a typical trip of 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The eSIM works across Japan, not just around the airport.
A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.
It must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Most recent iPhones, Google Pixels and Samsung Galaxy models support eSIM; check your phone’s settings or the provider’s compatibility list before paying.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.