ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Fukuoka Airport (2026)

Fukuoka Airport (FUK) is the gateway to Fukuoka. Set up your eSIM before departure and you can book transfers and check trains as soon as you land.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Saily5 GB30 days$10.99$2.20/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.5View plan
Airalo5 GB15 days$10.50$2.10/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.3View plan
Yesim5 GB30 days$10.56$2.11/GBKDDIYesYes9.3View plan
HolaflyUnlimited10 days$36.50KDDI/SoftBankYesYes6.2View plan
Drimsim5 GBPay as you go$69.84$13.97/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.3View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.5/10
    Price
    $10.99
    Price/GB
    $2.20/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.50
    Price/GB
    $2.10/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  3. 3

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.56
    Price/GB
    $2.11/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days

    6.2/10
    Price
    $36.50
    Price/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Pricier than the page average
    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go

    3.3/10
    Price
    $69.84
    Price/GB
    $13.97/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Fukuoka (FUK) mainly serves Fukuoka. The usual links to the city are Fukuoka City Subway, and you will want data to check departures and platforms as soon as you clear customs.

Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi, but keep it switched off for data until you land. Once the plane is on the ground, select the eSIM for mobile data, turn on data roaming for that line and wait for a Japanese network to appear.

Airport counters also rent pocket Wi-Fi units and sell SIM cards, which suits phones without eSIM support. For compatible phones an eSIM avoids the queue and the return; the Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide explains the trade-offs.

Airport Wi-Fi is free but shared, so avoid logging into banking or work accounts on it before your eSIM is active.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated dataPlan that covers it

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Can I buy an eSIM at Fukuoka Airport?

An eSIM is bought online, so you can purchase and install it before your flight. At the airport itself, rental counters offer pocket Wi-Fi and physical SIM cards instead.

How do I get online as soon as I land at Fukuoka?

Install the eSIM at home, then on landing select it for mobile data and turn on data roaming for that line. The phone should show a Japanese network within a minute or two.

How do I get from Fukuoka Airport to the city?

The usual links are Fukuoka City Subway. Having mobile data lets you check live departures and platforms while you walk to the station.

Which eSIM is best if I arrive through this airport?

For a typical trip of 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The eSIM works across Japan, not just around the airport.

Is a pocket Wi-Fi better than an eSIM?

A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.

Do Japan travel eSIMs include a phone number?

Most travel eSIMs sold for Japan are data only. You can still call through apps such as WhatsApp or FaceTime, and keep your home SIM active for texts.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (50%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (15%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.