Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planPlanning Fukuoka as part of your Japan trip? These are the eSIM plans worth considering, ranked on price, network and hotspot. The best balance today is Saily at $10.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Most visitors reach Fukuoka through Fukuoka (FUK). From there the usual links are Fukuoka City Subway and Sanyo Shinkansen. Install your eSIM before the flight so you can check connections as soon as you land.
Coverage is rarely the issue in the city itself; what matters more is having data as soon as you land, for transfers and maps.
Fukuoka belongs to the Kyushu region, and the same eSIM keeps working when you move on to the next stop. Size the plan on the whole trip, not on Fukuoka alone.
If you are travelling with several devices, look at the hotspot column before choosing: sharing one plan can be cheaper than buying two.
Keep the QR code or the activation details somewhere you can open offline, in case you need to reinstall the eSIM during the trip.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For a typical trip of 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works everywhere in Japan, not just in Fukuoka.
The main arrival airports for Fukuoka are Fukuoka (FUK). The usual onward links are Fukuoka City Subway and Sanyo Shinkansen.
No. Travel eSIMs for Japan are nationwide, so one plan covers every city and region on your route.
Select the eSIM as your mobile data line, turn on data roaming for it, and wait for a Japanese network name to appear. If nothing happens, restart the phone and check the APN settings shown by the provider.
A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.
It must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Most recent iPhones, Google Pixels and Samsung Galaxy models support eSIM; check your phone’s settings or the provider’s compatibility list before paying.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.