Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planWhether you stay in the cities or head for the countryside, Chubu rewards having your own data connection. Here are 5 providers compared, the cheapest fitting plan being Airalo at $10.50.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Most international visitors reach Chubu through Chubu Centrair (NGO). Stops covered on this site include Nagoya, Kanazawa, Takayama and Fuji / Kawaguchiko, each with its own page below.
The area is mountainous: coverage can be patchy on hiking trails and in deep valleys, so download offline maps before you head out.
Moving between regions does not change anything for a travel eSIM, which works across Japan. What changes is your daily use: long train days mean more maps and timetables.
Download offline maps of the region before leaving, and keep your accommodation addresses saved offline in case you land in a spot with weak signal.
Before paying, check that your phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible: the option usually sits under Mobile data or Cellular in the phone’s settings.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works across Chubu and the rest of Japan.
Cities and main transport corridors are well covered by Japanese networks. The area is mountainous: coverage can be patchy on hiking trails and in deep valleys, so download offline maps before you head out.
Providers that publish more than one Japanese partner network give you a fallback if one is weak. The networks column in the table shows what each provider publishes.
Select the eSIM as your mobile data line, turn on data roaming for it, and wait for a Japanese network name to appear. If nothing happens, restart the phone and check the APN settings shown by the provider.
For one or two people with compatible phones, an eSIM is lighter and usually cheaper. A pocket Wi-Fi can suit a large group sharing one connection; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares both.
Many unlimited plans apply a fair-use rule and slow the speed after a daily threshold. Read the plan conditions on the provider’s page; Airalo currently has the cheapest unlimited option here at $34.50.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.