ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Fuji / Kawaguchiko (2026)

Your eSIM works across Japan, so the plan you pick for Fuji / Kawaguchiko will also cover the rest of your trip. Here are 5 providers compared, led by Saily.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Saily5 GB30 days$10.99$2.20/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.5View plan
Airalo5 GB15 days$10.50$2.10/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.3View plan
Yesim5 GB30 days$10.56$2.11/GBKDDIYesYes9.3View plan
HolaflyUnlimited10 days$36.50—KDDI/SoftBankYesYes6.2View plan
Drimsim5 GBPay as you go$69.84$13.97/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.3View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.5/10
    Price
    $10.99
    Price/GB
    $2.20/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.50
    Price/GB
    $2.10/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  3. 3

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.56
    Price/GB
    $2.11/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days

    6.2/10
    Price
    $36.50
    Price/GB
    —
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Pricier than the page average
    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go

    3.3/10
    Price
    $69.84
    Price/GB
    $13.97/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Most visitors reach Fuji / Kawaguchiko through Haneda (HND) and Narita (NRT). From there the usual links are Fujikyu Railway and Shinjuku highway buses. Install your eSIM before the flight so you can check connections as soon as you land.

The area is mountainous: coverage can be patchy on hiking trails and in deep valleys, so download offline maps before you head out. Rural stretches have fewer masts than the cities, so a provider that publishes more than one Japanese network gives you a better fallback.

Because a Japan eSIM is nationwide, the plan you choose for Fuji / Kawaguchiko also covers the rest of Chubu and beyond. The comparison uses a typical trip of 10 days.

If you are travelling with several devices, look at the hotspot column before choosing: sharing one plan can be cheaper than buying two.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated data—Plan that covers it

—

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Which eSIM is best for Fuji / Kawaguchiko?

For a typical trip of 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works everywhere in Japan, not just in Fuji / Kawaguchiko.

Where do I land to visit Fuji / Kawaguchiko?

The main arrival airports for Fuji / Kawaguchiko are Haneda (HND) and Narita (NRT). The usual onward links are Fujikyu Railway and Shinjuku highway buses.

Do I need a different eSIM for Fuji / Kawaguchiko?

No. Travel eSIMs for Japan are nationwide, so one plan covers every city and region on your route.

How do I activate the eSIM when I arrive?

Select the eSIM as your mobile data line, turn on data roaming for it, and wait for a Japanese network name to appear. If nothing happens, restart the phone and check the APN settings shown by the provider.

Is a pocket Wi-Fi better than an eSIM?

A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.

Can I share the eSIM data with another device?

Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (50%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (15%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.