Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planExploring Hokkaido? One eSIM covers the whole region and the rest of Japan. For a 10-day trip with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Most international visitors reach Hokkaido through New Chitose (CTS). Stops covered on this site include Sapporo, each with its own page below.
Rural stretches have fewer masts than the cities, so a provider that publishes more than one Japanese network gives you a better fallback. The area is mountainous: coverage can be patchy on hiking trails and in deep valleys, so download offline maps before you head out.
A Japan eSIM is nationwide: you do not need a different plan when you cross into another region. Size it on your whole itinerary and your daily use.
Download offline maps of the region before leaving, and keep your accommodation addresses saved offline in case you land in a spot with weak signal.
Once the eSIM is active, turn off data roaming on your home SIM so your usual carrier does not bill background data.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works across Hokkaido and the rest of Japan.
Cities and main transport corridors are well covered by Japanese networks. Rural stretches have fewer masts than the cities, so a provider that publishes more than one Japanese network gives you a better fallback.
Providers that publish more than one Japanese partner network give you a fallback if one is weak. The networks column in the table shows what each provider publishes.
You need an internet connection to download the eSIM profile, so do it on Wi-Fi before the trip. Once installed, the eSIM connects to a Japanese network by itself when you turn on data roaming for that line.
A pocket Wi-Fi shares one connection with several devices but must be collected, charged and returned. An eSIM lives in your phone, so there is nothing to carry or give back.
Yes. Most phones run two lines at once: keep your usual SIM for calls and texts and use the Japan eSIM for data. Turn off data roaming on your home line to avoid charges.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.