ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Kanto (2026)

The Kanto region mixes busy hubs and quieter areas, so the network behind your eSIM counts. We ranked the published Japan plans: Saily comes first.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Saily5 GB30 days$10.99$2.20/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.5View plan
Airalo5 GB15 days$10.50$2.10/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.3View plan
Yesim5 GB30 days$10.56$2.11/GBKDDIYesYes9.3View plan
HolaflyUnlimited10 days$36.50KDDI/SoftBankYesYes6.2View plan
Drimsim5 GBPay as you go$69.84$13.97/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.3View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.5/10
    Price
    $10.99
    Price/GB
    $2.20/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.50
    Price/GB
    $2.10/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  3. 3

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.56
    Price/GB
    $2.11/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days

    6.2/10
    Price
    $36.50
    Price/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Pricier than the page average
    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go

    3.3/10
    Price
    $69.84
    Price/GB
    $13.97/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Most international visitors reach Kanto through Narita (NRT) and Haneda (HND). Stops covered on this site include Tokyo, Yokohama, Kamakura, Hakone and Nikko, each with its own page below.

Coverage is rarely the issue in the city itself; what matters more is having data as soon as you land, for transfers and maps.

Moving between regions does not change anything for a travel eSIM, which works across Japan. What changes is your daily use: long train days mean more maps and timetables.

Download offline maps of the region before leaving, and keep your accommodation addresses saved offline in case you land in a spot with weak signal.

Once the eSIM is active, turn off data roaming on your home SIM so your usual carrier does not bill background data.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated dataPlan that covers it

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Which eSIM is best for Kanto?

For 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works across Kanto and the rest of Japan.

Is mobile coverage good in Kanto?

Cities and main transport corridors are well covered by Japanese networks. Coverage is rarely the issue in the city itself; what matters more is having data as soon as you land, for transfers and maps.

Which network should I choose for rural areas?

Providers that publish more than one Japanese partner network give you a fallback if one is weak. The networks column in the table shows what each provider publishes.

Do I need Wi-Fi to activate a Japan eSIM?

You need an internet connection to download the eSIM profile, so do it on Wi-Fi before the trip. Once installed, the eSIM connects to a Japanese network by itself when you turn on data roaming for that line.

eSIM or pocket Wi-Fi for this trip?

For one or two people with compatible phones, an eSIM is lighter and usually cheaper. A pocket Wi-Fi can suit a large group sharing one connection; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares both.

Will my phone work with a Japan eSIM?

It must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Most recent iPhones, Google Pixels and Samsung Galaxy models support eSIM; check your phone’s settings or the provider’s compatibility list before paying.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (50%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (15%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.