Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planPlanning Yokohama as part of your Japan trip? These are the eSIM plans worth considering, ranked on price, network and hotspot. The best balance today is Saily at $10.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Most visitors reach Yokohama through Haneda (HND) and Narita (NRT). From there the usual links are Keikyu Line and JR Tokaido Line. Install your eSIM before the flight so you can check connections as soon as you land.
Coverage is rarely the issue in the city itself; what matters more is having data as soon as you land, for transfers and maps.
Because a Japan eSIM is nationwide, the plan you choose for Yokohama also covers the rest of Kanto and beyond. The comparison uses a typical trip of 10 days.
If you are travelling with several devices, look at the hotspot column before choosing: sharing one plan can be cheaper than buying two.
Keep the QR code or the activation details somewhere you can open offline, in case you need to reinstall the eSIM during the trip.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For a typical trip of 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works everywhere in Japan, not just in Yokohama.
The main arrival airports for Yokohama are Haneda (HND) and Narita (NRT). The usual onward links are Keikyu Line and JR Tokaido Line.
No. Travel eSIMs for Japan are nationwide, so one plan covers every city and region on your route.
Yes, and it is the easiest option: scan the QR code or use the provider’s app on Wi-Fi before departure. Most plans only start counting days when the eSIM first connects in Japan.
For one or two people with compatible phones, an eSIM is lighter and usually cheaper. A pocket Wi-Fi can suit a large group sharing one connection; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares both.
Some providers allow hotspot sharing and some limit or do not mention it. The table above shows what each provider publishes; when it says “Not stated”, check the plan page before you rely on tethering.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.