Saily
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planExploring Kansai? One eSIM covers the whole region and the rest of Japan. For a 10-day trip with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 30 days
$10.99$2.20/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planPlan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price | Price/GB | Japanese network | 5G | Hotspot | Score | CTA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20/GB | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 9.5 | View plan |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 15 days | $10.50 | $2.10/GB | SoftBank/KDDI | Yes | Not stated | 9.3 | View plan |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.56 | $2.11/GB | KDDI | Yes | Yes | 9.3 | View plan |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 10 days | $36.50 | — | KDDI/SoftBank | Yes | Yes | 6.2 | View plan |
| Drimsim | 5 GB | Pay as you go | $69.84 | $13.97/GB | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | 3.3 | View plan |
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days
Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days
Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go
Most international visitors reach Kansai through Kansai (KIX). Stops covered on this site include Kyoto, Osaka, Nara and Kobe, each with its own page below.
Coverage is rarely the issue in the city itself; what matters more is having data as soon as you land, for transfers and maps.
Moving between regions does not change anything for a travel eSIM, which works across Japan. What changes is your daily use: long train days mean more maps and timetables.
Download offline maps of the region before leaving, and keep your accommodation addresses saved offline in case you land in a spot with weak signal.
Keep the QR code or the activation details somewhere you can open offline, in case you need to reinstall the eSIM during the trip.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works across Kansai and the rest of Japan.
Cities and main transport corridors are well covered by Japanese networks. Coverage is rarely the issue in the city itself; what matters more is having data as soon as you land, for transfers and maps.
Providers that publish more than one Japanese partner network give you a fallback if one is weak. The networks column in the table shows what each provider publishes.
Yes, and it is the easiest option: scan the QR code or use the provider’s app on Wi-Fi before departure. Most plans only start counting days when the eSIM first connects in Japan.
For one or two people with compatible phones, an eSIM is lighter and usually cheaper. A pocket Wi-Fi can suit a large group sharing one connection; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares both.
Most travel eSIMs sold for Japan are data only. You can still call through apps such as WhatsApp or FaceTime, and keep your home SIM active for texts.
We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:
At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.