ESIM JAPAN · PUBLISHED PRICES COMPARED

Best eSIM for Osaka (2026)

Your eSIM works across Japan, so the plan you pick for Osaka will also cover the rest of your trip. Here are 5 providers compared, led by Saily.

Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

Plans compared for this trip

Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.

ProviderDataValidityPricePrice/GBJapanese network5GHotspotScoreCTA
Saily5 GB30 days$10.99$2.20/GBKDDI/SoftBankYesYes9.5View plan
Airalo5 GB15 days$10.50$2.10/GBSoftBank/KDDIYesNot stated9.3View plan
Yesim5 GB30 days$10.56$2.11/GBKDDIYesYes9.3View plan
HolaflyUnlimited10 days$36.50KDDI/SoftBankYesYes6.2View plan
Drimsim5 GBPay as you go$69.84$13.97/GBNot publishedNot statedNot stated3.3View plan

Detailed ranking

  1. 1

    Saily

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.5/10
    Price
    $10.99
    Price/GB
    $2.20/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  2. 2

    Airalo

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 15 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.50
    Price/GB
    $2.10/GB
    Networks
    SoftBank, KDDI
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Lowest price on this page
    • Lowest price per GB on this page
    • Unlimited plan available for Japan

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
    • Hotspot policy not stated
  3. 3

    Yesim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · 30 days

    9.3/10
    Price
    $10.56
    Price/GB
    $2.11/GB
    Networks
    KDDI
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 5G announced

    Cons

    • Data only, no phone number
  4. 4

    Holafly

    Plan for this page: Unlimited · 10 days

    6.2/10
    Price
    $36.50
    Price/GB
    Networks
    KDDI, SoftBank
    Hotspot
    Yes

    Pros

    • Unlimited plan available for Japan
    • Hotspot allowed
    • Two or more Japanese networks published

    Cons

    • Pricier than the page average
    • Data only, no phone number
  5. 5

    Drimsim

    Plan for this page: 5 GB · Pay as you go

    3.3/10
    Price
    $69.84
    Price/GB
    $13.97/GB
    Networks
    Not published
    Hotspot
    Not stated

    Pros

    • Wide choice of plan sizes
    • Dedicated app

    Cons

    • No unlimited plan for Japan
    • Pricier than the page average

What matters here

Most visitors reach Osaka through Kansai (KIX), or via Osaka Itami. From there the usual links are Nankai Rapi:t, JR Haruka and Tokaido Shinkansen. Install your eSIM before the flight so you can check connections as soon as you land.

Coverage is rarely the issue in the city itself; what matters more is having data as soon as you land, for transfers and maps.

Osaka is in the Kansai region. A single eSIM covers all of Japan, so there is no need for a local plan per city; what varies is how much data you use per day, which you can estimate below.

If you are travelling with several devices, look at the hotspot column before choosing: sharing one plan can be cheaper than buying two.

How much data do you need?

Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.

Usage
Assumptions (MB per day)
Estimated dataPlan that covers it

Install your eSIM in 4 steps

  1. 1

    Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.

  2. 2

    Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.

  3. 3

    On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.

  4. 4

    Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.

Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Which eSIM is best for Osaka?

For a typical trip of 10 days with at least 5 GB, Saily ranks first at $10.99. The same eSIM works everywhere in Japan, not just in Osaka.

Where do I land to visit Osaka?

The main arrival airports for Osaka are Kansai (KIX). The usual onward links are Nankai Rapi:t, JR Haruka and Tokaido Shinkansen.

Do I need a different eSIM for Osaka?

No. Travel eSIMs for Japan are nationwide, so one plan covers every city and region on your route.

When should I install the eSIM?

Install it at home on Wi-Fi a day or two before you fly, then switch it on for mobile data when you land. With most providers the validity only starts once the eSIM connects to a Japanese network.

eSIM or pocket Wi-Fi for this trip?

For one or two people with compatible phones, an eSIM is lighter and usually cheaper. A pocket Wi-Fi can suit a large group sharing one connection; our Pocket Wifi vs eSIM guide compares both.

Does a Japan eSIM allow tethering?

It depends on the provider. The comparison table shows whether hotspot use is published as allowed, and some unlimited plans cap how much data you can share per day.

How we rank

We compare the plans each provider publishes for Japan. We do not rank on personal testing or user reviews. For each provider we take the cheapest plan that covers the need of this page, then compute a score out of 10:

  • Price (50%): cheapest plan on the page ÷ this plan’s price × 10.
  • Japanese network (20%): 10 if two or more networks are published, 8 for one, 5 if unknown.
  • Hotspot (15%): 10 if tethering is allowed, 0 if not, 5 if unknown.
  • Options (15%): app, top-up and an unlimited plan for Japan (10 each if yes, 0 if no, 5 if unknown).

At equal score, providers we have a partner link with are listed first. Prices change often, so check the final price on the provider’s site.