Airalo
5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planThis duel puts Airalo and Drimsim side by side for Japan: plan for a typical trip, networks, 5G, hotspot, top-up and number of plans. Airalo wins on our score today.
Updated September 24, 2026Prices checked September 24, 2026
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the computed ranking. Affiliate disclosure
5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this planUnlimited · 10 days
$34.50
See this plan5 GB · 15 days
$10.50$2.10/GB
See this plan| Airalo | Drimsim | |
|---|---|---|
| Plan for this page | 5 GB · 15 days · $10.50 | 5 GB · Pay as you go · $69.84 |
| Price/GB | $2.10/GB | $13.97/GB |
| Score | 9.3/10 | 3.3/10 |
| Networks | SoftBank, KDDI | Not published |
| 5G | Yes | Not stated |
| Hotspot | Not stated | Not stated |
| Unlimited | Yes | No |
| Top-up | Yes | Not stated |
| Phone number | No | Not stated |
| plans | 17 | 10 |
Choose Airalo if you want the choice between a fixed plan and an unlimited one.
Choose Drimsim if you use very little data and prefer paying by use; compare its current per-MB rate on its site.
Plan shown: the cheapest plan of each provider that covers at least 10 days and 5 GB. Tap a column header to sort.
Airalo sells fixed and unlimited plans for Japan, while Drimsim charges data by use instead of selling fixed plans, with prices in euros. That difference drives most of the verdict below.
On networks, Airalo publishes SoftBank and KDDI and Drimsim no partner network. On hotspot, Airalo does not state its policy and Drimsim does not state its policy.
The per-profile verdict is computed with the same score as the rest of the site, using each profile’s trip length and data need: that is why one provider can win for a family and lose for a solo traveler.
Prices move often. The table shows the plan each provider sells for the need of this page, at the price published on the date shown at the top.
Pick your trip length and how you use your phone. The assumptions are visible and editable.
Buy the plan before you leave and keep the QR code or the app handy.
Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi. Most plans only start the validity period once the eSIM connects in Japan.
On landing, switch the eSIM on for mobile data and keep your home SIM for calls and texts if you need them.
Turn on data roaming for the eSIM line, then check that the phone shows a Japanese network.
Your phone must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-compatible. Check this in your phone settings before you buy.
For 10 days with at least 5 GB, Airalo costs $10.50 and Drimsim costs $69.84, with prices checked on September 24, 2026.
On our score Airalo comes ahead of Drimsim for a typical trip. The verdict by traveler type shows where the other one wins.
Airalo publishes SoftBank and KDDI; Drimsim publishes no partner network.
Yes. Most phones store several eSIMs; install the second one on Wi-Fi and select it as your data line. Only one line can usually carry data at a time.
Yes, and it is the easiest option: scan the QR code or use the provider’s app on Wi-Fi before departure. Most plans only start counting days when the eSIM first connects in Japan.